3 mint sauna scents and 6 peppermint and spearmint essential oils, with prices as listed.
This page covers mint two ways: the ready-made mint and menthol sauna scents, and peppermint and spearmint essential oils. We recorded three of the first and six of the second, with the price and size each listing gives, checked on 3 October 2026. Tylö’s US manual for its Sense Sport heater lists mint and menthol as two of six Tylö sauna fragrances.
Sources: Tylö: Sense Sport USA Installation / User Guide (US edition; models SSU 5, SSU 7, SSU 8; doc 2900 5240). Checked 3 October 2026.
Peppermint and menthol sauna scents
| Item | Scent | Size | Per 10 ml | How the seller describes it | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emendo Lemon & Menthol Sauna Scent (10ml)Finnmark Sauna · Emendo | Lemon menthol | 10 ml | £11.99 | Not recorded | £11.99 |
| Harvia Sauna Aroma - PeppermintAqualine Saunas · Harvia | Peppermint | 400 ml | £0.75 | Not recorded | £30Was £35 as listedVAT not stated |
| Tylo Essences Concentrated Sauna Steam Room Fragrance Oils (Peppermint)Leisurequip · Tylö | Peppermint | 250 ml or 5 L | — | “Fresh, minty aroma” | From £34VAT not stated |
Prices as shown on 3 October 2026. Aqualine Saunas and Leisurequip do not say whether their prices include VAT. For Finnmark Sauna we recorded the displayed price and didn't check for a VAT statement. “From” is the shop's own starting price for a listing sold in more than one size. The listing for 1 of these items didn't show whether it was in stock. “Was” is the seller's own higher price, shown beside the current one. Wording in quotation marks is the seller's own, as we read it; it is not our claim.
The only dose among them is for the Emendo concentrate: Finnmark’s listing says three to six drops in a ladle of water. The Harvia and Tylö listings give no dose in the text we read, and we read the Harvia one from the range page only. For the doses other sauna scents give, see how much scent to add.
Peppermint and spearmint essential oils
| Item | Botanical name | Origin as stated | Size | Per 10 ml | How the seller describes it | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| English Peppermint Essential OilTisserand | Mentha piperita mitcham | South East England | 9 ml | £4.72 | “Rich, bracing scent with a sweet minty aroma” | £4.25Was £8.50 as listed |
| Peppermint (Arvensis) Essential OilNikura | Not recorded | Not recorded | 10 ml | £4.99 | “its refreshing, stimulating character and its crisp, revitalising aroma” | £4.99 |
| Peppermint Essential Oil (Piperita)Nikura | Mentha piperita | Not recorded | 10 ml | £4.99 | “Known for its crisp, cooling aroma” | £4.99 |
| Spearmint Essential OilNikura | Mentha Spicata | Not recorded | 10 ml | £4.99 | “Sharp and sugary, our spearmint essential oil shares the camphoraceous aromas of peppermint with a much sweeter overtone” | £4.99 |
| Peppermint Organic Essential OilTisserand | Mentha piperita | India | 9 ml | £11.11 | “fresh and minty with a pungent, menthol aroma and sweet top notes” | £10 |
| Peppermint Essential Oil 10mlNeal's Yard Remedies | Mentha piperita | Britain | 10 ml | £14.00 | “Cooling and refreshing, this essential oil is distilled from the fresh leaves of the peppermint plant” | £14 |
Prices as shown on 3 October 2026. We saw no VAT wording on the Tisserand, Nikura and Neal's Yard Remedies pages we read. The listing for 1 of these items didn't show whether it was in stock. “Was” is the seller's own higher price, shown beside the current one. Wording in quotation marks is the seller's own, as we read it; it is not our claim.
The listings name two species: Mentha piperita (peppermint, at all three brands) and Mentha spicata (spearmint, at Nikura). Nikura also sells a second peppermint oil, titled Peppermint (Arvensis). Tisserand’s peppermint guide describes the oil as having a “fresh, cooling aroma”.
None of these product pages mentions sauna use. Tisserand’s peppermint guide says all essential oils should be diluted before use on the skin. What the heater makers say about oils in a sauna is on how to use essential oils in a sauna.
Sources: Tisserand Aromatherapy: Peppermint essential oil guide. Checked 3 October 2026.
Menthol crystals
We don’t list menthol crystals. The one pack we found at a sauna retailer is sold on a health claim, in its title and its web address, so we left it out, and we didn’t find menthol crystals at Nikura in the pages we read.
If you’re considering them, the same rule applies as to any scent: check your heater’s manual first. HUUM’s DROP manual says to use sauna fragrances and oils only in the steam water, and Harvia’s Cilindro Pro manual says only aromas designed for sauna water may be used.
Sources: HUUM: DROP Electric Sauna Heater installation and operation manual (EU; DROP 4, 6, 7, 9); Harvia: Cilindro Pro electric sauna heater, instructions for installation and use (PDF hosted by zoechling-holz.at). Checked between 1 and 3 October 2026.
Mint on the stones
Scent goes in the water. HUUM’s DROP heater manual says sauna fragrances and oils can catch fire if poured undiluted directly onto the stones, and Tylö’s US Sense Sport manual warns that fragrant essences may ignite if poured directly onto the stones. The fire warnings on essential oil labels are set out on essential oils for a sauna.
Sources: HUUM: DROP Electric Sauna Heater installation and operation manual (EU; DROP 4, 6, 7, 9); Tylö: Sense Sport USA Installation / User Guide (US edition; models SSU 5, SSU 7, SSU 8; doc 2900 5240). Checked 3 October 2026.
Peppermint and menthol questions
Can you use peppermint oil in a sauna?
The heater manuals we've read that mention scent put it in the water. HUUM's DROP manual says to use sauna fragrances and oils only in the steam water, and Harvia's Cilindro Pro manual says only aromas designed for sauna water may be used. We list three ready-made mint and menthol sauna scents.
Can you put peppermint oil on sauna stones?
No. HUUM's DROP heater manual says to use sauna fragrances and oils only in the steam water, and that they can catch fire if poured undiluted directly onto the stones, and Tylö's US Sense Sport manual warns that fragrant essences may ignite if poured directly onto the stones.
How much does peppermint oil cost?
The six peppermint and spearmint essential oils we recorded cost from £4.25 to £14 for a 9 or 10 ml bottle on 3 October 2026.
Does this site list menthol crystals?
No. The one pack we found at a sauna retailer is sold on a health claim, so we left it out. Tylö's US manual lists menthol among its sauna fragrances, and Finnmark lists an Emendo lemon and menthol sauna scent.
What is the difference between peppermint and spearmint oil?
They come from different plants: the listings give Mentha piperita for peppermint and Mentha spicata for spearmint. Nikura's listing describes its spearmint as sharing the aromas of peppermint with a much sweeter overtone.
